Adventures at A4e

Thanks for sharing this, Izzy, and for producing such a well written account.
If you want to know the origins of this dangerous pseudo-psychology read
https://sparaszczukster.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/dwp-strengths-tests-an-unethical-experiment-based-on-neoliberal-ideology-dressed-up-as-theory/

Izzy Koksal

Adventures at A4e

‘Izzy, nothing is impossible…’ he tells me reassuringly, he starts to read one of the many motivational quotations that are stuck all over the walls and on the desk around which the group is seated. I stare back at him blankly, horrified. Then the man next to me starts reading out loud the Oprah Winfrey that is in front of him.

This was one of many surreal moments of an A4e training course ‘finding and getting a job’ that I was coerced into attending by my job centre advisor. She had told me that it would help me with my CV, however, it seemed that the trainer of the course had much grander ideas – he was determined to change my ‘being’ which was apparently what is preventing me from getting a job – rather than, say, an economy that is heading back into recession and a…

View original post 1,910 more words

Leave a Reply

